Match Reports‎ > ‎

Sallins vs Eadestown

posted 17 Jul 2011, 15:18 by Eoin Beatty

Eadestown: 0-13
Sallins: 0-10
Eoin Beatty
Sallins suffered their first league defeat of the season as Eadestown ran out three point winners in a top of the table clash on Sunday evening.
It was the home side, Eadestown who raced into an early lead as they scored 2 points in the space of four minutes, coming from midfielder Barry Lawlor and corner forward Stephen Smith respectively.
Sallins` response however was instant as Niall Herbert capped off an excellent team move before Cian Bolton restored his sides 2 point advantage with a great point under pressure from the Sallins defence.
Two free kicks from the right boot of Damien Behan levelled the game up before Eadestown hit 5 points without reply, with scores from Sean O`Sullivan, Bolton and Richard O`Neill.
It was Sallins who finished the half out the strongest as they added another two points, both of which coming from the trusty left foot of Conor Herbert.
Eadestown who were playing with the wind in the opening period were by far the happier team going into the interval as they lead the visitors by 8 points to 5.
Conor Herbert picked up from where he left off in the first half as he recorded his third point of the evening, pointing a free kick after Eamonn McCormack was impeded.
Eadestown then perhaps could have had a goal, as Cian Bolton broke through the Sallins back-line, but opted to slot the ball over the bar.
Damien Behan kept the pressure on Eadestown as he kicked his second free kick of the game before Stephen Smith pointed for the home side.
Conor Herbert added yet another free kick prior to the score of the game coming from Sallins wing-forward and captain Derek Walsh.
Cian Bolton got his 5th and 6th points of the game to stretch Eadestowns lead to 3 points.
Sallins knew that only one thing would give them any hope and that was to get the ball in the back of the Eadestown net and they seemed to be on course to doing that as Damien Behan broke through on goal but was fouled on the 14 metre line and Conor Herbert converted the resulting kick.
Sallins continued to pile on the pressure on their opponents but to no avail as the Eadestown defence stood strong and caught Sallins on the break for Stephen Smith to score that all important insurance point to see his side win by a three point margin.

Dermot Mullan, Paul Hyland, Willie Casey, John Dowling, Mark Prendergast, Alan Casey, Eddie Conroy, David Gillespie, Barry Lawlor (0-1), Sean O`Sullivan (0-1), Robert Smith, Jerry Holmes, Cian Bolton (0-6), Richard O`Neill (0-2), Stephen Smith (0-3) (Subs): Paudie Ryan for Sean O`Sullivan, Alan Kavanagh for Jerry Holmes
Aaron Smyth, Wayne Farrell, John Boland, Peter O`Connell, Emmet Ralph, Eoin Delmer, Gavin Moore, Eamonn Cully, Fergal Swan, Niall Herbert (0-1), Damien Behan (0-3 2f), Derek Walsh (0-1), Conor Herbert (0-5 4f), Eamonn McCormack, Fergal Nugent (Subs):  Paul Moynihan for Fergal Nugent, Brian Jones for Peter O`Connell, David Callan for Derek Walsh, Justin McLoughlin for Emmet Ralph
Referee: Henry Barrett (Kilcullen)