Match Reports‎ > ‎

Sallins vs Nurney Division 3 SFL

posted 14 Jul 2011, 03:07 by Eoin Beatty
Sallins Vs Nurney
Eoin Beatty
Sallins: 0-9
Nurney: 0-7
Sallins are yet to suffer their first defeat of this years Tom Cross SFL Division 3 campaign after a two point away win in Nurney  last Wednesday evening.
Nurney took the lead in the 3rd minute through a free kick from corner forward Martin Conway, this was to be however their last score for fifteen minutes as Sallins hit four points without reply with scores coming from Derek Walsh, Damien Behan, Paul Moynihan and a free kick from Eamonn McCormack.
It was Martin Conway again who reduced the deficit to two points with his and Nurney`s  second score of the game.
Playing against a strong breeze proved little task for Nurney wing back John Merrins as he slotted over a superb 45`from a difficult angle.
But it was Sallins who would finish out the half the strongest with accurate shooting from Derek Walsh and Fergal Swan leaving the Half Time score 0-6 0-3 in favour of the visitors.
Less than one minute into the second half and Nurney had their fourth point of the game with a free kick from Andrew Behan before Sallins hit 3 points in a row with a free kick from Eamonn McCormack and a point each for Derek Walsh and Damien Behan respectively.
Nurney ensured that Sallins would have a nervous last ten minutes as they put on a lot of pressure to the Sallins defence.
This pressure soon paid off as they hit 3 points in quick succession with a point from play and a free kick from Andrew Behan and another free kick from the trusty boot of Martin Conway.
Sallins did hold off in the end to maintain their 100% unbeaten record
leaving the final score
Sallins : 0-9
Nurney: 0-7

Dan Sweeney, Wayne Farrell, John Boland, Peter O`Connell, Damien O`Keefe, Eoin Delmer, Gavin Moore, Eamonn Cully, Justin McLoughlin, Fergal Swan (0-1), Damien Behan (0-2),  Derek Walsh (0-3), Damien Stephens, Eamonn McCormack (0-2 2f), Paul Moynihan (0-1)
Paul Conway, Stephan Whelan, Mark Kelly, Robbie Behan, John Merrins (0-1), Stephen Conway, Michael Behan, Patrick Higginbottom, Eoin Merrins, Stefan Dempsey, Kevin Keegan, Kevin Conway, Martin Conway
(0-3 2f), Brian Conway, Andrew Behan (0-3 2f)